top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Domitro

Three Things Thursday: Smart Start Creamer



I started drinking coffee pretty regularly when I was about 15 years old.


I remember sitting at Denny’s with my misfit friends, ordering cup after cup, just so we had somewhere to stay and chat independently like the pre-adults we thought we were.


I remember late night drives - specifically the one when I met my husband when we were 21 - where we would grab a coffee and head into the city just to sip our iced coffee on Lake Michigan with the skyline lighting up our eyes.


I remember walking around with a newborn baby boy in one hand and a big cup of coffee in the other; sleep deprived and wonderstruck, a zombie (or mombie) by all accounts, just trying to make it to nap time.


When I was younger I would add tons of cream and sugar into my coffee until I was in my twenties and found out that there was actually a lot more flavor - that I, as a matter of fact, enjoyed - and decided to just add a splash of cream in. So, upon my introduction with Coffee Over Cardio, I learned about a creamer they offered - Smart Start Creamer.

Naturally I had to grab it and give it a go - not fully understanding what it was or how I would like it.


The end result?


I AM OBSESSED.



And here’s three things that created the obsession.


1. SCIENCE

Smart Start creamer is more than just your coffee’s new best friend. It’s like a secret weapon of wonderfulness (is that even a word?)! But what makes this product stand out are it’s two patented ingredients; TeaCrine & Cognizin!




"TeaCrine® is a patent-pending compound containing pure theacrine, which can be found in natural sources such as the Camellia tealeaf, coffee and certain exotic fruits. A nature-identical compound, TeaCrine® delivers energy, mental clarity, and improved motivation and mood. It does not increase heart rate or blood pressure and is not a stimulant."

"Citicoline is nature’s way of keeping the brain’s energy-producing centers firing. Clinically tested for efficacy, Cognizin® delivers a patented form of citicoline that supplies your brain with the energy it needs to stay sharp.* Cognizin is also pure, vegetarian and allergen-free."

Smart start also contains MCT Oil - which has some amazing benefits of its own - like these 7 science based benefits that are listed on Healthline;

  1. Promotes weight loss in several important ways

  2. Instant source of energy that can also be used to fuel your brain

  3. May reduce lactate buildup in athletes and help use fat for energy

  4. Could Help Manage Epilepsy, Alzheimer’s Disease and Autism

  5. Contains Powerful Fatty Acids That Fight Yeast and Bacterial Growth

  6. May Reduce Risk Factors for Heart Disease, Such as Weight and Cholesterol

  7. May Help Control Blood Sugar Levels and Support Diabetes Management

Like I said, weapon of wonderfulness.


2. EXPERIENCE

Ok, so yes, Smart Start is scientifically pretty awesome.


But what does all that fancy talk mean for this mom?


The number one reason I add Smart Start into my morning coffee EVERY SINGLE DAY is because of the increased energy, focus, and mental support it gives me!!


The energy is especially huge on my workout days! There is a dramatic difference in my stamina and how hard I can push myself on days I take Smart Start compared to days I don’t (which are now only when we run out)!


I am also much more focused on my day; the kids, my home business, my blog, etc. I have more clarity and am able to prioritize and really thrive through my day, rather than inhale two POTS of coffee just to feel a little alive.


The best part is definitely the longevity of the caffeine and the fact that I get ZERO jitters. It turns my previous 2 POTS of coffee into 2 cups!





And it’s not just me.


My husband (who is a sheet metal worker in Downtown Chicago, working on high risers - sometimes 15+ feet in the air) also swears by this product. He personally struggles with PTSD and brain fogginess is a steady symptom that we are constantly working to improve.


As a former personal trainer and health advocate, he was immediately drawn to the use of TeaCrine in the creamer. He regularly added CREATINE ( which mostly helps to build muscle mass and boost strength) to his morning coffee prior to our Coffee Over Cardio switch and always in his post workout shakes, which made him exceedingly excited to try this patented formula.


He raves about how focused and concentrated he now feels and the clarity that accompanies that.


This experience has been, quite literally, a Smart Start for our mornings.



3. FLAVOR

As if feeling stronger and more focused wasn’t enough to influence you, then the flavor definitely will.


Smart Start Creamers are available in Vanilla Caramel Swirl & Dreamy Hot Fudge.





I wish I could tell you one is better than the other, but they are BOTH delicious!! We are truly divided in our house. We love them both, but Mike definitely prefers the Vanilla Caramel Swirl and I about die and go to Heaven with every sip that contains the Dreamy Hot Fudge.


If you are a flavored coffee person or like to add sweetener in your coffee, I would advise against adding in anything with extra flavoring or sweetness when using the creamer!


While this is keto-friendly, it is also sweet by nature. It is recommended to add a half scoop into your morning coffee (or oatmeal - you can actually use this in an assortment of ways) and adjusting to your taste! Mike and I prefer one full scoop for maximum benefits and flavor!


Though this is a creamer, it is not going to lighten your coffee the way traditional creamer would - so I suggest if you like your coffee a little on the lighter side, use a flavorless creamer in addition to your smart start.


I LOVE adding in some unsweetened almond milk or coconut milk with my coffee



 

I cannot recommend this creamer enough - or praise its potency and power sufficiently.


I am always a little weary of supplements - especially oils - in my coffee. While Mike has been adding supplements (protein, creatine, etc.) to his morning routine for well over ten years, I, on the other hand, have never enjoyed the texture and taste that they would leave.

Oils always tend to make the beverage greasy and leave a residue. Proteins would always clump together and create little pockets of powder in my mouth that would leave me gagging. But Smart Start creamers have been a dream to me.






I think it is safe to add that I know some have issues with dissolving their powder into their coffee - we seem to have mastered the craft. I always add my smart start to my cup FIRST and add my coffee over it, helping it to dissolve a little more effortlessly. I then give it a good spooning and never seem to have problems.


If you are considering checking out Smart Start creamers - just do it. I promise, you won’t be disappointed.

20 views0 comments
bottom of page