top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Domitro

3 Smart Point Snickerdoodle Pancakes



Who doesn’t love to eat cake for breakfast? I’m pretty sure this is how pancakes were invented (I’m not, don’t fact check me)!


Pancakes are the ultimate American breakfast. Nothing says “morning y’all” like a buttery stack bathed in syrup on a Sunday morning. Ok, any morning.


 


I remember looking forward to overnights at my grandparents house and the promise of pancakes cooked right on the griddle in the morning, served with sunshine and a side of bacon, of course.


When I was pregnant with my first born, it wasn’t pickles and peanut butter I craved, but - you guessed it - pancakes. I made them almost every morning. I’d get fancy and add in chocolate chips, or cinnamon, a shot of vanilla, or blueberries and bananas. Sometimes just some old fashioned butter and syrup was sufficient enough.


Now, in case you’re unaware (or ignorant as I was), pancakes aren’t the most healthy breakfast. All the flour, all the butter, all the syrup - it adds up. And it’s a calculation I never considered until I started Weight Watchers about a month ago.


Prior to my WW journey, we’d make Kodiak Pancakes at least once week - for breakfast on the weekends, or breakfast for dinner (forever a family favorite)! But the points on my beloved Kodiak cakes were actually weighing me down (read: the scale went up).


As I eagerly searched Pinterest for some worthy recipes, I found tons of mouth watering menus. But nothing was under 5 points. I finally adapted a recipe I found and within just one try - it was PERFECT; serving size, taste, texture - I couldn’t believe it.


All I did was cut the flour, yogurt, and egg ingredients in half. I kept the same amount of vanilla and added in a secret weapon- Snickerdoodle Super Smart Start Creamer (and sometimes a couple drops of almond milk)!


I literally eat these every day now. And for only 3 SP (smart points) it’s unbelievable how full and satisfied I feel!! And the taste - the taste is truly heavenly - it’s like putting freshly baked snickerdoodles into your mouth!


If that wasn't reason enough to try, they are also packed with protein from the yogurt and the Smart Start Creamer offers three nootropics to boost focus and clarity!!


These are truly like nothing you have had before.


I hope you try this out and enjoy it as much as I do !



 

STEP BY STEP


First off, let's gather all the ingredients! This recipe is extremely simple - only 5 ingredients;

  • 1/2 cup non fat Greek yogurt

  • 1/4 cup self rising flour

  • 1 egg

  • 1 tsp vanilla

  • 1 scoop of snickerdoodle smart start creamer

  • *option to add 1-2 Tbsp. of almond milk for a thinner consistency!



The process is just as elementary.

  1. I like to put my skillet on the stove over medium low heat to get acclimated while I mix my batter. This isn't required, but part of my routine.

  2. I use my kitchen aid to effortlessly combine ALL the ingredients; that means in goes the yogurt, flour, vanilla, egg, and smart start creamer.

  3. With the paddle attachment, I mix all the ingredients on medium/high together until a creamy consistency forms.

  4. After 1-2 minutes of mixing, I release the lever, lift the handle, and scrape the sides of the bowl. The yogurt can tend to clump on the bottom so I always make sure to never skip this step.

  5. Then I return the attachment and mix on high one last time.

  6. Once the texture is light and smooth, I take my bowl to my stove and lower my skillet to low heat.

  7. Now the fun part. I pour 1/3 of the batter onto the skillet. If the consistency is thicker, I use my spatula to GENTLY smooth over and spread out the batter (maybe 1/4 in.). This is NOT required if you want a smaller, hefty pancake. You also will not need to do this if you add almond milk to thin out the batter.

  8. I let the pancake cook 1-3 minutes on the skillet (low heat) until little air bubbles begin to pop.

  9. Then I flip over, and repeat twice more.

  10. Garnish with whatever toppings you would like. BUT PLEASE NOTE: syrup and butter will ADD points to this recipe - so plan accordingly! My pancakes with the old fashioned fixings ends up coming out to 5-6 points. HOWEVER, if you top with fruit, it will still stay 3 points.



Serve yourself and enjoy !


 






14 views0 comments
bottom of page