top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Domitro

The Fight for Surrender



The gospel tells us that we only need Jesus. There is nothing that we can do on our own that would allow us redemption from our sins. In all honesty we deserve the wrath God so deservingly deals.


That’s not an easy statement to swallow.


Especially when every part of our being wants to believe the opposite; we work hard so we deserve more money, we’re the best in our company so we deserve the title, we deserve the newest cars, phones, the most perfect relationships and trendy clothes - we deserve the best. That is a much more heart soothing rhythm to sing to than we all deserve nothing, or worse, death.


But praise be to God who knew we would never measure up, and instead of setting us up to fail, He created the ultimate escape plan from the beginning of time. It was in Eden that God declared His final victory and promised that all would be made right again (Genesis 3:14-15).


The promise of Jesus is sprinkled throughout the Old Testament like the remnant of colorful specs on your kitchen counter (and floor at our house) after baking cookies and cupcakes all day. You didn’t realize how much scattered off the actual treat until you clear the space you were working in and reveal the beautiful mess.

The Old Testament is the same way. While many of the prophets (and undoubtedly the Israelite's) had no idea of what/or who this promised Messiah would be, we - after clearing the table and looking in so many years later - can see what was left behind in those stories and events. God’s hand is sovereignly, effortlessly, and always orchestrating behind the scenes, creating a grand spectacle that is revealed in His time.


The only downside is that this has taken some millennia for us, and we’re still waiting. We all too easily forget that time doesn’t hold the same rules for God that it does for us. He created time. A millennia for us may only be a minute to Him. We will never know for sure until that glorious day when a new Heaven and new Earth will appear with our Savior.


Our Savior. Our Jesus. Messiah. King. Prince of Peace. Friend. Brother. Son.


When the night is still, and the kids are sleeping, and I’m writing next to the open window while the breeze brushes my cheek and tingles my fingertips, I (for whatever reason) always think of these words from Come Thou Fount;

Oh, to grace how great a debtor Daily I'm constrained to be Let that goodness like a fetter Bind my wandering heart to Thee Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it Prone to leave the God I love Here's my heart, oh, take and seal it Seal it for Thy courts above

I am the great debtor. I deserve the wrath I talked about above. Because it’s not just a single sin I was saved from. Daily I’m constrained to be! And it is only by the relentless and reckless grace of God that I am able to confidently bind my heart to thee.


This doesn’t change the fact that I am undoubtedly prone to wander, or that the world will constantly challenge me to rebuke what I believe. But because of the blood of Jesus, because of His unconditional and astounding love, I am made free to say here’s my heart Lord, and believe that it is sealed for thy courts above.


And all I am asked to do in return for the salvation of my soul, is to surrender this life to God.


Is this surrender the same as waving the white flag in a war? Yes and no (hear me out). We are essentially saying that this world wins and we don’t want to be apart of it. However, we are also told to take heart - because Jesus has overcome this world (John 16:33).


While waving the white flag in a war may signal an end, surrendering the white flag to God is just the beginning.

It’s the beginning of the end of a struggle to strive for perfection. It’s the beginning of allowing grace to abundantly overflow and embrace you. It’s the beginning of denouncing all pride and replacing it with humble humility. It’s admitting defeat from this world and embracing the exile of this life, only to gain a much greater and never ending future.


Luke 9:23 tells us to take up our cross daily, but I argue that we must simply waive the white flag of our souls surrender -- daily.


Doing so allows us to more deeply depend on Jesus. It requires us to trust more. It’s not easy. It’s not always going to be what we genuinely want to do (prone to wander). But then again, nowhere in the Bible does it say that it should be easy. It’s a fight. A battle. A war of an unseen world (Ephesians 6:12). And we only need to Surrender.


Will you join me in praying this week:

Gracious God and Lord of Lords.

Thank you for the amazing privilege to come before you, confidently and freely.

Lord, Meet me on this battlefield.

Help me to surrender this life, this day, this moment to you,

So that you can use it for your glory.

Let my life be an offering for your kingdom cause, for your will to be done,

Both on Heaven and Earth.

Sustain me as I surrender Lord.

Help me to depend on you deeper and trust you more.

Forgive me if I wander, can’t contain my tongue, or follow a deceitful heart.

Allow me to simply surrender

So that I can experience your abundant grace and peace.

In the glorious name of Jesus I pray, Amen

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page