top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Domitro

Bathtime Business


Tonight I gave my son a bath. That seems like such a stale & simple sentence. But there is something enormously delicate and almost magical about the actual experience.

Andy just turned four months old. In this grand paradox of time, that age seems so incredibly infant, and yet, I cannot believe he is that old! The most incredible part of watching him grow is witnessing his curiousity and astonishment of life. With him, the most mundane things – like bathtime – become extraordinary.

Andy has just “discovered” his knees and toes. Yes, knees. Sidenote: I have heard of kids finding their feet and toes, but my son is completely infatuated with his knees, and I feel like that is weird (which makes me love him more). His attention and focus was so intense tonight that instead of the normal chit chat we share in these moments, I found myself kneeling beside the tub in completely silent adoration ( with the exception of toes splashing in water).

In between the splish splash, grabbing for toes, and the study of knees, there were these brief twinkling moments where Andy would glance up from his experiments and lock eyes with me. His sweet face would change from inquisitive to great joy. His eyes widening and his dimples appearing from his large giggling grin made my heart feel as though it was about to burst in my chest, and I felt myself mirror his image.

It was in those remarkable fleeting seconds before he found amusement in his previous endeavors, that transformed something as commonplace as bathtime, into an unparralled, beautiful, and wondrous adventure.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page